Search ||  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

Name: St. Simons Island Light  

Feedback to the database manager

Nearest Town or City:
St. Simons Island, Georgia, United States

Location: Near Frederica River, south end of St. Simons Island.

Click to enlarge: Photo    Large photo
Photo: St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum

Managing Organization:
St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum

Telephone: 912-638-4666


Contact Address Information:
P.O. Box 21136
St. Simons Island
Georgia, 31522, United States

The first St. Simons Lighthouse was destroyed in the Civil War. Its remains were were partially excavated by archaeologists in 1974. The lighthouse was restored in 1989-1991, and was refurbished again in 1998. The optic is still maintained by the U.S. Coast Guard; the site is operated by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society.

Tower Height: 104

Height of Focal Plane: 106

Description of Tower: White, conical brick tower.

This light is operational

Other Buildings?
1872 two story brick Victorian keeper's house, 1890 oil house, gazebo, offices.

Earlier Towers?
1811: 75-foot brick and coquina tower.

Date Established: 1811

Date Present Tower Built: 1872

Date Automated: 1953

Optics: 1872: Third order Fresnel lens, still in use.

Current Use: Active aid to navigation, museum.

Open To Public? Yes

The St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum contains exhibits on the history of St. Simons. Hours: Mon. - Sat. 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Sun. 1:30 to 5 p.m. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas, and New Year's Day.

The museum and lighthouse are located at 101 12th Street, St. Simons Island, 15 miles by car from I-95 at Brunswick, Georgia (or 5 miles from U.S. 17 in Brunswick). Crossing the St. Simons Causeway to Kings Way: turn right on Mallory Street, turn left on Beachview Drive, and right onto 12th Street.

Keepers: James Gould (1810-1937); Lachlan McIntosh (1837-1852); Alexander D. McIntosh (1852-1855); John F. Carmon (1855-1872); Bradford B. Brunt (1872-1874); Frederick Osborne (1874-1880); George Ashbell (1880-1883); Isaac L. Peckham (1883-1892); Joseph Champagne (1892-1907); Carl Olaf Svendsen (1907-1936); Arthur F. Hodge (1936-1945); David O'Hagan (1945-1953)

to Lighthouse Digest

USLHS Marker Fund

Lighthouse History
Research Institute

Shop Online

Subscribe   Contact Us   About Us   Copyright Foghorn Publishing, 1994- 2024 Lighthouse Facts       Lighthouse History