Digest>Archives> Nov/Dec 2017

Anne Webster-Wallace Honored With F. Ross Holland Award


You can see an enlarged version of this picture by clicking here.
>> Click to enlarge <<
Mile Vogel presenting ALC’s F. Ross Holland Award ...
Photo by: Stasia Vogel

The American Lighthouse Council (ALC), now an affiliate of the United States Lighthouse Society, marked National Lighthouse Day this year by presenting the nation’s top lighthouse preservation honor to Anne Webster-Wallace of Maine.

Anne Webster-Wallace served as the Director of the Maine Lights Program, the 1996 prototype lighthouse transfer program that served four years later as a template for the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act and lighthouse transfers to preservation groups nationwide. When she became director of that program for the Island Institute, she already had a decade of experience in preserving the offshore Sequin Island Lighthouse near her home in Georgetown, Maine. She went on to make invaluable contributions to the national lighthouse movement, including developing the lighthouse transfer program that became the inspiration and template for the transfer of historic light stations to stewardship groups nationwide.

To recognize her long service to the keeping of the lights and of their heritage, the ALC awarded her the F. Ross Holland Award, the lighthouse community’s highest lifetime honor. The award was presented in Georgetown on Aug. 7, National Lighthouse Day, by Council co-chair Mike Vogel.

Previous people who have been recipients of the award have been Ken Black, founder of the Maine Lighthouse Museum; Wayne Wheeler, founder of the U.S. Lighthouse Society; Cullen Chambers of Tybee Island Historical Society; Richard Moehl, president of the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keeper’s Association; Michael Vogel of the Buffalo Lighthouse Association; J. Candace Clifford, lighthouse researcher and author; Thomas Tag, lighthouse author and researcher; Timothy Harrison, editor of Lighthouse Digest; Lee Radzak of Split Rock Lighthouse; Donald Terras of the Grosse Point Lighthouse; and Ralph Eshelman of the National Maritime Preservation Task Force of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The honor was the final F. Ross Holland Award to be presented by ALC. The honor now will be administered by the grants and awards committee of the United States Lighthouse Society, and nominations may be sent directly to them.

This story appeared in the Nov/Dec 2017 edition of Lighthouse Digest Magazine. The print edition contains more stories than our internet edition, and each story generally contains more photographs - often many more - in the print edition. For subscription information about the print edition, click here.

All contents copyright © 1995-2024 by Lighthouse Digest®, Inc. No story, photograph, or any other item on this website may be reprinted or reproduced without the express permission of Lighthouse Digest. For contact information, click here.

to Lighthouse Digest

USLHS Marker Fund

Lighthouse History
Research Institute

Shop Online

Subscribe   Contact Us   About Us   Copyright Foghorn Publishing, 1994- 2024   Lighthouse Facts     Lighthouse History